Germantown Education Commission Regular Meeting – April 21, 2009, 6 p.m. Minutes

Attendees:

Eleanor Purdy, David Compton, Sheryl Weatherford, Stacey Ewell, Stephanie Van Arsdale, Dino Palazzolo, Lesley Fluke, Carole Hinely, Melissa Walker, Abigail Braddock, Junling Wang, Bonnie Lee, Robyn Rudisill

The meeting was called to order at 6:08 by Robyn Rudisill. A quorum was established. The minutes from the January meeting were approved with two spelling corrections.

<u>Comments by the Chairman</u> Robyn expressed her appreciation to all commission members for the hard work that they have put in this year, especially with all of the new things that the commission has been involved in. Alderman Hinely agreed and hopes that everyone will reapply to be on the commission next year.

There was some discussion about award sponsors and Bonnie Lee reported that Joe Ford has been secured as the Teacher of the Month sponsor for next September. Robyn would like to see a more structured effort in obtaining sponsors for next year.

<u>Math and Science Competition</u> Dino, Stephanie and Carole met with GHS and HHS students and teachers to discuss the math and science competition. Their ideas received a great response from the students who were especially excited about the opportunity to win a cash prize. The group stressed to the students and teachers present that they were looking for students with all academic abilities to participate, not just the top students.

There was some discussion about when the competition would take place. Abigail commented that it might be best to have the event during the week of homecoming when the schools play each other in football or basketball. This would give the schools a platform to compete academically in addition to the traditional sports competitions.

It was decided that we would send an announcement about the competition to the schools in May. Stephanie will send details to Stacey for distribution to the schools.

<u>Education Celebration</u> Abigail gave an update on plans for the upcoming Education Celebration scheduled for Monday, May 4. Members are asked to gather in the council chambers at 5 p.m. to practice speaking parts for the presentations. Mearl Purvis has been confirmed as our speaker.

Votes were counted and the education celebration winners are:

Teacher of the Year – Wendy Pitt, Farmington Elementary School
New Teacher of the Year – Spencer Nesvick, Houston High School
Youth Excellence Scholarship recipient – Rachel Anne Ness, Hutchison School
These winners will not be announced prior to the ceremony.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.