Germantown Education Commission Regular Meeting – March 23, 2009, 6 p.m. Minutes

Attendees:

David Compton, Sheryl Weatherford, Stacey Ewell, Stephanie Van Arsdale, Dino Palazzolo, Lesley Fluke, Melody Miller, Carole Hinely, Melissa Walker, Abigail Braddock, Junling Wang, Robyn Rudisill

The meeting was called to order at 6:18 by Robyn Rudisill. A quorum was established. The minutes from the February meeting were approved by a motion by Sheryl Weatherford and a second by David Compton and Abigail Braddock.

Education Celebration: Abigail gave a breakdown of the duties and responsibilities for the activities for the Education Celebration. Sign-up sheets were passed around for clean up and set up. Abigail informed the Commission that she would take care of writing all of the speeches needed for the evening. Melissa Walker and Abigail Braddock will be greeting the past winners for teachers and students before the program begins. David Compton will be responsible for the colors and National Anthem. Robyn Rudisill will take care of the opening remarks. Recognition of Youth Excellence Award Recipients and schools will be Lesley Fluke. Junling Wang will announce the Youth Excellence Scholarship Award. Sheryl Weatherford will be presenting the New Teacher of the Year. Melody Miller will recognize all the teacher of the month winners. Teacher of the Year is announced by Carole Hinely and Mayor Goldsworthy. Dino Palazzolo will take care of all closing remarks. Stacey Ewell will be responsible for pictures. The guest speaker was confirmed to be Mearl Purvis from Fox 13 News.

Math and Science Competition: Stephanie Van Arsdale and Dino Palazzolo reported on the progress and plans for a math and science competition for next fall. Both Dr. Van Arsdale and Dr. Palazzolo met with the principals of Germantown High School and Houston High School to inquire if there is any interest in such a competition. Both schools were very excited about this endeavor. The principals and teachers and students will be meeting on April 16, 2009, to discuss the competition. A prize of \$500 is being discussed for first place and the possibility of an Einstein trophy to be awarded to the winning team. The competition would be held at a neutral location. The Commission commended both Ms. Van Arsdale and Mr. Palazzolo for their work on getting the ball rolling on the competition.

<u>Comments from Carole Hinely:</u> Carole informed the Commission that she had spoken with John Barzizza who will make a donation of \$500 in honor of the Barzizza family to sponsor the

Youth Excellence Scholarship Award. Carole also reminded the Commission members that applications for next year's commissions will be ready in May. Please remember to fill out the commission application for next year. The Commission was also informed by Ms. Hinely that the placement of the winners for the student and teachers has been moved on the agenda for the Board of Mayor and Aldermen meetings. The awards will be presented before any citizen comments are heard.

<u>Miscellaneous:</u> Dino Palazzolo supplied the hospitality for the March meeting. The April meeting will be held on April 21st.

<u>Awards:</u> The winner for the Youth Excellence Award for March is Allison Ross-Spang from Germantown High School and the April Youth Excellence Award winner is Michael Lee from Houston High School. The March Teacher of the Month is Cynthia Gorski from OLPH and the April teacher is Coach Sothearath Chhim from Germantown Elementary School.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:24 p.m.