# Germantown Education Commission Regular Meeting – April 18, 2017 Minutes

#### Attendees

Mindy Fischer, Betsy Landers, Julie Ganey, Laurie Whitney, Stephanie Brockway, Audrey Grossman, Steve Chandler, Mary Anne Gibson, Stacey Ewell

The meeting was called to order at 5:35 p.m. by Chairman Fischer. A quorum was established.

#### Consideration of Minutes

The minutes from the March 2017 meeting, were reviewed by the commission members. The minutes were unanimously approved as written.

### **Old Business**

Final plans for the Education Celebration were discussed. The event will take place on Thursday, April 27. Members are asked to arrive by 5:30 p.m. Dave Wottle will serve as speaker. Julie Ganey is coordinating food. Mindy Fischer will bring table cloths and prepare programs.

## **New Business**

A motion to pay out \$1,000 to the Youth Excellence Scholarship winner passed unanimously. The amount was increased due to excess funds resulting from the successful fundraising efforts of members. A motion by Mindy Fischer to allocate up to \$3,000 to purchase companion titles related to the 2018 Germantown' Big Read selection "True Grit" passed unanimously. Barbara Boyer seconded the motion. Education Celebration awards: Youth Excellence Scholarship winner – Marianne Agee Teacher of the Year – Jennifer Mock

The next Education Commission meeting will take place August 15, at 5:30 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:11 p.m.