# CITY OF GERMANTOWN PLANNING COMMISSION VIDEO CONFERENCE Tuesday, December 1, 2020 6:00 p.m.

- 1. Call to Order: Chairman Harless called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Roll Call and Establishment of a Quorum: Regina Gibson called the roll and established a quorum.

Commissioners Present: Chairman Mike Harless; Keith Saunders; Richard Marsh; George Hernandez; Alderman Forrest Owens; David Clark; and Mayor Mike Palazzolo

Commissioners Absent: Secretary Sherrie Hicks (resigned appointment as of 11/10/2020) and Vice Chairman Dike Bacon

Staff Present: Cameron Ross, Economic and Community Development Director; Sheila Pounder, Planning Division Manager; Sarah Goralewski, Senior Planner; Tim Gwaltney, City Engineer; Jody Dwyer, Fire Marshal; Regina Gibson, Staff Secretary; and David Harris, Assistant City Attorney.

3. Establishment of Necessity to Conduct Planning Commission Meeting Electronically:

Cameron Ross made a statement regarding the establishment of the necessity to conduct the Planning Commission meeting electronically. Chairman Harless called for a motion.

Mayor Mike Palazzolo made a motion to approve the Necessity to Conduct Planning Commission Meeting Electronically, seconded by Keith Saunders.

#### **ROLL CALL:**

Marsh – Yes

Clark-Yes

Owens - Yes

Hernandez – Yes

Saunders - Yes

Harless-Yes

Palazzolo - Yes

## **MOTION PASSED 7-0-0**

#### 4. Approval of the Minutes:

George Hernandez moved to approve the Planning Commission minutes for November 10, 2020 meeting, seconded by Richard Marsh.

### ROLL CALL:

Owens - Yes

Hernandez - Yes

Marsh-Yes

Clark - Yes

Saunders - Yes

Harless - Yes

Palazzolo - Yes

#### **MOTION PASSED 7-0-0**

5. Consent Agenda: There were no items on the consent agenda.

### 6. Public Hearings:\*

A. Case Number & Project Name: (19-907) Skinner Property

Location: North side of Poplar Ave.; approximately 278' feet west of

Forest-Hill Irene Rd.

Property Owner/Applicant: David A. Skinner, Jr. Revocable Trust – David Skinner

Representative: Solomito Land Planning – Brenda Solomito Existing Zoning: "AG" Agricultural and "R-E" Residential Estate

Area: 3.38 acres

Request: Approval of a rezoning of three parcels from AG (Agricultural)

and R-E (Residential Estate) to O (Office) and C-1 (Neighborhood

Commercial)

Sheila Pounder made a staff presentation

The applicant's representative, Brenda Solomito Basar, with Solomito Land Planning, 1779 Kirby Parkway, #1-323, Memphis, TN 38138 made a presentation.

The Commission discussed the request with ECD staff and the applicant's representative.

Public comments were read into the record opposing and supporting this item.

## \*\*OPPOSITION:

Petition Opposing the Rezoning Proposal (74 Names)

### Letters/Emails of Opposition:

- 1. David Wade, 6410 Poplar Avenue, Ste. 1000
- 2. Nancy Coe, 2896 Hughes Creek Cove
- 3. Lee & Gayle Hidinger, 8990 Grove Forest Cove
- 4. Alvin & Carla Ray, 9169 Forest Hill Lane
- 5. Robyn Favi, 9280 Forest Hill Lane
- 6. Dale & Sherry Jones, 9237 Forest Hill Lane
- 7. Alison & Scott Thomas, 8989 Grove Forest Cove
- 8. Susan & Andrew Davidoff, 9309 Forest Hill Lane
- 9. Ashley Mooney, 9225 Forest Hill Lane
- 10. Bill Ryan, 9020 Grove Forest Cv.
- 11. Bill & Donna Adams, Forest Hill Lane
- 12. Charles & Joni Herron, 9010 Grove Forest Cove
- 13. Charles & Nancy Coe, 2896 Hughes Creek Cove
- 14. Denise & Rodney Tubbs, 9296 Forest Hill Lane
- 15. Colin W. Howden, MD, Vice President of Provence Place HOA, 9137 Belle Fleurs Cove
- 16. Joe and Phyllis Knose, 9316 Forest Hill Lane
- 17. John N. Robbins & Janice H. Robbins, 9220 Forest Hill Lane
- 18. John & Kathy Linn, 9001 Grove Forest Cove

<sup>\*</sup>Refer to complete application and staff report on file.

Planning Commission December 1, 2020

Page | 3

- 19. Lisa & Ron Campbell, 9173 Belle Fleurs Cove
- 20. Natalie Malone, 9113 Belle Fleurs Cove
- 21. Patrick & Beverly McClatchy, 9341 Forest Hill Lane
- 22. Michael Rebolledo, President of Georgelawn HOA & Pamela Rebolledo
- 23. Richard Grant, President of Provence Place HOA, 9182 Belle Fleurs Cove
- 24. R. Scott & Teri Barber, 9125 Belle Fleurs Cove
- 25. Steven & Lisa Youngentob, 9152 Belle Fleurs Cove
- 26. Denis & Lourdes Bonderud, 9348 Forest Hill Lane

### \*\*SUPPORT:

- 1. Leslie Bracey Mink, 2866 Mallard Lane
- 2. Scott Dawson, 3091 Woodlane Cove
- 3. Edward Wildrick, 8988 Winding Way
- 4. Joseph A. Cerrito, 9000 U.S. Highway 72
- 5. Philip K. Smith, 2590 Johnson Road
- 6. Michael Nabors, 2287 Johnson Rd.
- 7. Laura McGill, 2834 Ole Pike Drive
- 8. David Arick, 3203 Wetherby Drive,
- 9. Jim Rout, President/CEO, Bank TN
- 10. Michael Ferree, Owner of Backyard Construction, LLC, 962 Farnifold Dr. Suite 4
- 11. Carla Cannon, 2241 Kimbrough Woods P-l
- 12. Emmett Whitaker
- 13. Zach Justice & Family, 2535 Vester Oaks Drive
- 14. J. Stephen Weir, 9027 Winding Way
- 15. Gregory Sherrill, 2257 Lansingwood Drive
- 16. Phil Sisneros, 1974 Arden Landing Cove S
- 17. Charles C. Sheaf & Audrea L. Bowles, 2125 Brierbrook Rd.
- 18. Laurie Whitney, 8869 Darby Dan Lane
- 19. Ken Ross, 7549 Parker Cir
- 20. Peggy Whitaker, 8825 Three Chimneys Drive E.
- 21. Joseph & Beverly Garaffa, 94400 Forestwood Rd.
- 22. Laura Beth Scott2533 Windy Oaks Drive
- 23. James Taylor, 2241 Kimbrough Woods Pl.
- 24. Andrew C. Cowan Sr., 2620 Forest Hill Irene Road
- 25. Bud Hurley, 9628 Spring Meadow Lane
- 26. Cindy R. Seward, 3097 Windstone Way
- 27. Edgar Sablan, 3589 Crestwyn Drive
- 28. Ellen Bernstein, 2090 E. Glenalden Dr.
- 29. Eric Still, 935.8 Greshem Cove
- 30. Gregory Cross, 9032 Winston Woods Circle North
- 31. Jake Farrell, 2642 Forest Hill Irene Road
- 32. Jerilyn Hayward, Ph.D., 8524 Grabersbridge Cove
- 33. Kevin Speed, 9181 Forest Downs Rd.
- 34. Shane Young, 1951 Milier Farms Road
- 35. Tom Curlin, 8891 Forest Glade Road
- 36. Tripp Murray, 1334 Fox Grape Cove

<sup>\*\*</sup>All letters/emails and the petition are public record and included the official case file.

Planning Commission December 1, 2020 Page | 4

### MOTION:

David Clark moved to approve the rezoning of three parcels, totaling 3.38-acre, from "AG" Agricultural and "R-E" Residential Estate to "O" Office and "C-1" Neighborhood Commercial, subject to the comments and conditions listed above and in the staff report, and the plans and documents submitted with the application, seconded by Keith Saunders.

#### ROLL CALL:

Marsh - No, this request is not appropriate zoning for this piece of property.

Saunders - No, based on previous comments that this is not the appropriate zoning for this piece of property at this time, and it does not meet the criteria the state has set forward for rezoning.

Clark – No, as previously stated by other commissioners

Owens – No, as previously stated by other commissioners

Hernandez – No, as previously stated by other commissioners

Harless – No, as previously stated by other commissioners

Palazzolo – No, as previously stated by other commissioners. Also do not see any change in population, road pattern, road circulation or any mistakes which are the classic definition for rezoning.

## **MOTION PASSED 0-7-0**

## 8. Commission Liaison Reports

Chairman Harless asked if there were any liaison reports and there were none.

#### 9. Old Business

Chairman Harless asked if there was any old business and there was none.

## 10. New Business

Chairman Harless acknowledged and thanked four Planning Commissioners ending their service, namely Richard Marsh, Keith Saunders, Sherrie Hicks, and Forrest Owens.

### 11. Adjournment

There being no further business, comments, or questions by the Commission, Chairman Harless adjourned the meeting at 9:02 p.m.

Mike Harless, Chairman Planning Commission