# Germantown Education Commission Regular Meeting – September 27, 2011 Minutes

#### Attendees:

David Compton, Stacey Ewell, Mindy Fischer, Michelle Johns, Laura Meanwell, Dino Palazzolo, Brandi Reaves, Sue Sharp, Stephanie VanArsdale

The meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m. by Stacey Ewell. A quorum was established.

## **Consideration of Minutes:**

The minutes from the August 2011 meeting were reviewed by the commission members. Laura Meanwell presented the motion to approve the minutes. Dino Palazzolo made the second motion. The commission members voted on the motion and the minutes were approved.

Introductions were made by each commission member and new commission members, Michelle Johns and Mindy Fischer were welcomed.

## Old Business:

Battle of the Brains Update – Stephanie Van Arsdale and Dino Palazzolo met with the principals from Houston and Germantown High Schools who are both very excited about and committed to the competition. Due to some suspicion of plagiarism, originality has been added to the judging criteria.

School Liaison Assignments – David passed around the sign up sheet for school liaison assignments. All schools were assigned a liaison.

#### New Business:

Monthly Awards : Wilson Helmhout, a senior at Hutchison, was selected at the Youth Excellence Award winner. No teacher applications were received. The award will be presented at the October 24 meeting of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen.

November Education Week – Bonnie Lee will organize the cookie distribution. Cookies will be available for pick up on Tuesday, November 15, and should be delivered to the school on Wednesday, November 16. School liaisons are responsible for delivering cookies to their schools.

Race for Education – David Compton made a motion to discontinue distribution of water at the Race for Education. Laura Meanwell provided the second motion. All voted in favor of the motion.

Holiday Parade – Commission members agreed to participate in the Germantown Holiday Parade. Sue Sharp will coordinate the event. Stacey Ewell will provide contact information for the Teacher and New Teacher of the Year winners from 2011.

Award Sponsors – The commission's fundraising chairman, David Compton, provided an update. All Teacher of the Month sponsors have committed for the year. Sponsors for Battle of the Brains are still needed. So far \$595 in cash donations has been received. David asked that all funds be received by November 1.

The meeting was adjourned.