PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING MUNICIPAL CENTER COUNCIL CHAMBERS Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The regular meeting of the Planning Commission was scheduled and held in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Center on January 3, 2012. Alderman Drinnon welcomed everyone and asked the Commission members as well as the audience to please speak into the microphone so they could be heard. Alderman Drinnon then called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. asking the secretary for the roll.

Ms. Rush called the roll of the Board to establish a quorum:

<u>Commissioners Present:</u> Hale Barclay, Susan Burrow, Alderman John Drinnon, Mike Harless, David Klevan, Steve Wilensky and Dike Bacon.

Commissioners Absent: Forrest Owens

Staff Present: Andy Pouncey, David Harris, Wade Morgan and Pam Rush.

A quorum for tonight's Planning Commission meeting was established.

1. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Alderman Drinnon declared the floor open for nominations for Chairman.

Mr. Harless nominated Mr. Klevan for Chairman.

Alderman Drinnon asked if there were any other nominations. There were none. He said he would entertain a motion that the nominations cease and that Mr. Klevan be elected.

Ms. Burrow seconded the motion.

Alderman Drinnon asked for a roll call.

Roll Call: Barclay – yes; Burrow – yes; Drinnon – yes; Wilensky – yes; Bacon – yes; Harless –yes; Owens - absent; Klevan – abstain. **Mr. Klevan was elected Chairman of the Planning**

Commission.

Chairman Klevan stated he would entertain nominations for Vice Chairman.

Mr. Harless nominated Ms. Burrow as Vice Chairman. Mr. Bacon seconded the motion.

Chairman Klevan asked if there were other nominations. There were none. He asked the nominations cease and that Ms. Burrow be elected by acclamation.

Chairman Klevan asked for a roll call.

Roll Call: Barclay– yes; Burrow – abstain; Drinnon – yes; Wilensky – yes; Bacon – yes; Harless –yes;

Owens - absent; Klevan – yes. **The Commission members voted unanimously to elect**Me. Proposer of Vice Chairman

Ms. Burrow as Vice Chairman.

Chairman Klevan then asked for nominations for Secretary.

Ms. Burrow nominated Mr. Harless for Secretary. Mr. Bacon seconded the motion.

Planning Commission Minutes January 3, 2012 Page 2

Chairman Klevan asked if there were other nominations. There were none.

Chairman Klevan moved that the nominations cease and that Mr. Harless be elected by acclamation.

Chairman Klevan asked for a roll call.

Roll Call: Barclay – yes; Burrow – yes; Drinnon – yes; Wilensky – yes; Bacon – yes; Harless – abstain; Owens - absent; Klevan – yes. The Commission members voted unanimously to elect Mr. Harless as Secretary.

Chairman Klevan stated he would like to welcome Mr. Hale Barclay and Mr. Steve Wilensky as our new Planning Commissioners.

2. Approval of Minutes for November 1, 2011

Chairman Klevan stated for those people who just arrived, tonight's agenda is on the front table. The first order of business is the approval of the minutes for November 1, 2011. If there were no additions, corrections or deletions to the minutes of the November 1, 2011, meeting of the Planning Commission, he would entertain a motion for approval.

Ms. Burrow moved to approve the Planning Commission minutes of November 1, 2011, as submitted, seconded by Alderman Drinnon.

Chairman Klevan asked for a roll call.

Roll Call: Barclay – abstain; Burrow – yes; Drinnon – yes; Wilensky – abstain; Bacon – abstain; Harless –yes; Owens - absent; Klevan – yes. **The motion was passed**

- 3. Consent Agenda There was none.
- 4. Chairman Klevan asked if there was any old business to come before the Commission.

 There was none.
- 5. Chairman Klevan asked if there was any new business to come before the Commission. There was none.
- **6.** Chairman Klevan asked if there were any liaison reports. **There was none.**

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.